ORR announces steering committee members

Apr 04, 2017

Mattapoisett — Old Rochester Principal Mike Devoll announced the members of the steering committee who will direct the school’s efforts during its self-study and the Accreditation by the Commission on Public Schools of the New England Association of Schools and Colleges.

English teacher Megan Hall and social studies teacher Dr. Erich Carroll will be co-chairs, and Geoff White, Sheryl Briggs, Karen Browning and Heidi Graser will make up the rest of the committee.

NEASC membership requires that a school undergo a self-study and formal evaluation at least once every 10 years. The steering committee’s responsibilities will include coordinating a schedule of events for the school’s self study, collecting reports from various subcommittees and making necessary preparations for the evaluation committee’s visit.

Devoll said the self-study will include a comprehensive assessment of teaching and learning, as well as the support of teaching and learning. The focus of the accreditation visit will be to determine the extent of which the school’s programs and services carry out the school’s core values and beliefs about student learning and align with the Committee on Public Secondary Schools Standards for Accreditation.

ORR was last accredited in 2006.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.