Tabor Academy to open new Athletic Hall of Fame

Oct 11, 2016

Marion — On Saturday, Oct. 15, Tabor Academy will induct the inaugural class of 2016 into the new Tabor Academy Athletic Hall of Fame. Six teams, seven coaches and 15 individual athletes will be inducted. The physical location of the Athletic Hall of Fame is in the Tiedemann Concourse of the Fish Center for Health & Athletics.

The mission of the hall is to honor and recognize the significant contributions of athletes, teams, coaches and individuals who through their teamwork, dedication, leadership and sportsmanship have created a lasting legacy for Tabor Athletics.

A committee was formed to draw up the bylaws of the Athletic Hall of Fame and to create a process to solicit and vet nominations and elect each induction class. More than 200 nominations were received last winter.

According to committee member and event organizer Kristin McLaughlin, “Tabor’s Athletic Hall of Fame was spearheaded by our retired faculty member and Athletic Hall of Fame coach inductee, Dick Duffy ’56. After forty years on faculty and a former alum, Duffy has brought great insight to the founding principles of the Athletic Hall of Fame. It has been an exciting opportunity to launch this program with him as we honor the past, celebrate the present and inspire the future of Tabor Athletics.”

A private induction banquet is planned for the morning, starting at 11 a.m. At 3:30 p.m., the public may join the inductees and Tabor community for the ribbon cutting ceremony for the Hall of Fame’s grand opening.

After perusing the plaque gallery, all are invited to the football game on the Duffy Turf Field at 4 p.m. where there will be a tent including refreshments.

The inductees are as follows:


David Barker Jr. ’72

Joby Branion III ’81

Colleen Coyne ’89

Michael Finn ’74

Elizabeth Robinson Hagemann ’38*

Robert Hollis ’73

Paul Hughes ’79

George Linzee ’69

Camillo Merizalde ’77*

Richard Pariseau ’56

Donald “Rip” Perry ’47

Eleanor Pierce ’84

Jack Riley ’39*

Emily Roller ’95

Travis Roy ’95



Toby Baker

Harry Hoyle*

Tom Buffinton

Tim Walsh

Capt. John Carlson*

Jules Luchini*

Dick Duffy ’56



1961 Varsity Boys’ Basketball

1965 Varsity Henley Crew

1976 Varsity Football

1988 Varsity Girls’ Crew

1990 Varsity Sailing

1994 Varsity Girls’ Hockey





Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.